Where It’s App

 

AG iPhone application

AG iPhone application

So the numbers are in for the Apartment Guide iPhone application and on paper it looks pretty good, according to Primedia’s press release earlier today.  Over 230,000 downloads.  Like most of you, I’d like to dig a little deeper and find out how many of those downloads resulted in email or phone inquiries.  I’m sure my account rep will be in this month to tell me.  

Without that information available, I’d like to draw a picture of how truly remarkable this could be.  This is  the equivalent of 230,000 Apartment Guides being added to their distribution.  That’s 28,750 books per month since they started in October.  I would imagine it’s probably closer to 40 – 50,000 per month since they launched their advertising campaign in March.  40 to 50,000 additional users of the Apartment Guide without adding a single page of print.  At that rate they will approach 600,000 downloads by the end of the year.

There are a million and one questions that need to be asked and answered, but at first blush, this seems to be a successful first step in the right direction to improve the consumer experience and potentially increase traffic to communities advertising on Apartment Guide.  Win-win.

3 Comments

  1. I love the fact that I posted the question to the industry a long, long time ago about which ILS would release the first iPhone app. I was roundly criticized for asking the question and many people said it would ‘never happen’. Hmmm….230,000 downloads later, I don’t look so wrong after all. And more importantly, Apartment Guide looks brilliant.

    • ‘Tis better to be roundly criticized than to never be criticized at all! I REALLY want to get inside the numbers on this.

  2. 230k is a remarkable number. I think I need to make an app too.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other followers